Malahide 1 v Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 22 Aug 2020 at 14:00
Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club Won by 5 runs (DLS)

Match report Harry Tector and Simi Singh played crucial roles in a 5-run DLS victory for YMCA over Malahide in the LHW Financial Planning Senior League Cup on Saturday.

Tector was playing on a different track to his teammates as he hit seven boundaries in his 41, before Singh showed his class with the ball to take 2-8 off his four overs.

It all could have been so different for Malahide however as they seemed to be on top at many stages throughout this rain-interrupted match.
From the opening over when Jimmy Newland (3-22) bowled a wicket-maiden to remove opposition captain Jack Tector, Malahide took wickets at regular intervals throughout the YMCA innings.

David O’Halloran (3-0-10-0) was tough to put away while Alistair Frost (3-18) removed Curtis Campher (5), Tim Tector (11) and Bobby Gamble (0) all to catches at point by Alan Reynolds. The first a very good effort coming over his shoulder.

All the while, Harry Tector remained at the other end. Tector played some beautiful shots, one through mid-wicket and a reverse sweep through point were particularly eye-catching.

When Newland returned to remove Tector and bowl Cassidy in the same over to leave YMCA 80/8 however, Malahide once again seemed on top. The Anders boys responded though.

Tom (14 off 7) and Rory (13 off 9) powered YMCA to 112/8 off the reduced 17 overs. With the DLS adjustment, the target became 116 in 17 overs for Malahide and it was hard to tell where the momentum was.

Enter Arjun Muntha (25) and Alan Reynolds (17). They came out firing with some outstanding clean striking to rocket the score to 33 off 2.5 overs. What followed swung the match back towards YM.
Reynolds skied a Tom Anders delivery to deep mid-wicket where Wilhelm de Klerk did really well to take a great catch as the ball came down with snow on it in the swirling wind.

Singh then bowled his first over, going for just one run, and the Malahide momentum was halted. When Muntha tried to cut Singh and feathered through to Cassidy in the 7th over, Malahide were 50/2 and needing to start again.

Greg Ford 13 and Alistair Frost 10* were keeping up with the DLS par score, particularly with rain in the air and more forecasted.

When Singh picked up his second wicket as Ford top-edged a sweep and Mikey O’Reilly bowled Turner with the very next ball, Malahide were 67/4 and the equations had all changed.

By the end of that O’Reilly over Malahide were 72/4 and five runs short of the DLS mark.

At this point, the rain returned with a vengeance and kept the players off the field for good this time. This meant a narrow 5-run (DLS) victory for YMCA in a game that ebbed and flowed and could have gone either way in the end.

(Peter Boyd)

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1nb 6w 1b 5lb 
for 8 wickets
Jack B. Tector ct R Shoebridge b J Newland 0 3 0
Simi Singh ct A Doyle b C Shoebridge 12 16 1 75.00
Harry T. Tector ct A Muntha b J Newland 41 37 7 110.81
Curtis Campher ct A Reynolds b A Frost 5 12 41.67
Tim Tector ct A Reynolds b A Frost 11 13 84.62
Bobby N. Gamble ct A Reynolds b A Frost 0 1 0
Wilhelm De Klerk ct J Newland b C Shoebridge 3 4 75.00 1
Rory Anders Not Out  13 9 1 144.44
J.J. Cassidy Bowled  0 1 0 1
Tom Anders Not Out  14 7 1 1 200
Michael O'Reilly   1

Malahide 1 Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
J Newland4.012237.335.50
D O'Halloran3.001000.003.33
C Shoebridge4.0131215.507.75
M Frost3.002500.008.33
A Frost3.001836.006.00

Malahide 1 Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 4 wickets
72 (12.1 overs)
A Reynolds ct W DeKlerk b T Anders 17 8 2 1 212.50
A Muntha ct J Cassidy b S Singh 25 21 5 119.05
G Ford ct M O'Reilly b S Singh 13 23 56.52
A Frost Not Out  10 16 62.50
N Turner b M O'Reilly 0 1 0
A Doyle Not Out  4 4 100
C Shoebridge  
R Shoebridge  
D O'Halloran  
J Newland  
M Frost  

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Curtis Campher2.002100.0010.50
Michael O'Reilly3.0020120.006.67
Tom Anders2.0016116.008.00
Simi Singh3.00824.002.67
Rory Anders2.00700.003.50