Sandyford 2nd XI v Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 3rd XI on Sun 03 May 2009 at 1.30pm
Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club Won By 53 runs.

Match report YMCA 3rd XI v Sandyford 2nd XI
At Marley Park
Intermediate A League

Our season opened with an away match against Sandyford with the vice captain winning the toss and electing to bat. The outfield was long and we were informed that the mat was to be re-laid shortly: after a couple of overs we could see why, with good length balls rising sharply and others staying low.
Our opening pair of Niall Noonan (who was having a break from his books) and Daveed coped admirably putting on 27 before the first wicket fell. And then the second. 27 for none became 27 for 2 and 47 for 5. Aman provided resistance at one end with a very valuable knock of 43 but his problem was finding a partner to bat with. At that stage David Cooke strolled to the crease with his usual nonchalance and proceeding to put all the specialist batsmen to shame. Not only did Aman and DC put on a very useful 33 , they always did a bit of psychological damage.
In reply, Sandyford lost an early wicket to a super catch by Daveed in front of the YM umpire and First XI Captain Warwick. Sandyford then worked hard and brought the score to 39 before the skipper introduced the most successful batsmen Aman and DC who then changed the game. In 14 overs the score went from 39 for 1 to 40 for 4, 49 for 6, 51 for 9 before a final wicket stand brought the score to 57. Amman took 6 wickets for 10 ( 5 clean bowled) with David Cooke 3 for 8.
We left Marley Park with a good win thanks to our Aman and David, knowing exactly why the mat was to be re-laid. Thanks to Wazza for umpiring also – it is a long time since we have had the First Team Captain at a third team game.

Derek Dockrell (Capt.)

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 3rd XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 10 wickets
Davíd Meade b Ali Asgar 18 1
Niall J. Noonan ct Praveen 6
Rory R. Anderson b Praveen 0
Derek E. Dockrell b Praveen 5 1
Aman Singh b Ali Asgar 43
Ryan K. Bailey b Praveen 0
David R. Rice lbw Praveen 2
Christiaan Visser b Sissini 6
Josh D. Van Der Flier b Ali S. 1
Lee C. Cole ct Sissini 0
David J. Cooke Not Out  15 1

Sandyford 2nd XI Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ali Asgar7.111829.002.51
Ali S.4.0022122.005.50

Sandyford 2nd XI Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
57 (0.0 overs)
Chris O. ct Meade, Bowled Rice 5
A.Ali ct & Bowled Cooke 20
P.Nagan ct Dockrell, Bowled Singh 11
K.Smith lbw Cooke 8
D.Sissini b Singh 0
Praveen b Cooke 1
S.Ali b Singh 1
M.Potts b Singh 2
Muriali b Singh 0
N.Javed b Singh 3
Kiran Not Out  3

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 3rd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
David R. Rice5.0118118.003.60
Rory R. Anderson5.002100.004.20
Aman Singh7.431061.671.30
David J. Cooke7.03832.671.14

  • Umpire :
    W.Armstrong & Official Umpire
  • Scorer :
    Bill Frindall