Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI v Railway Union C.C. on Sun 24 Aug 2008 at 12.30pm
Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club Lost by 30 runs

Match report Y.M.C.A. 1st XI v Railway Union 1st XI
WhitneyMoore League - Section B
Sunday 24th August
at Claremont Road

A very damp, flat track with no bounce gave rise to two things: a low-scoring game and 8 LBWs. Having been inserted, Railway lost quick wickets, including those of Carroll and Fourie. Opener Fisher stayed in longest, being eighth out for a good, grafting 51. With help along the way from Copeland (15), Tariq (20) Rogan (12), Rendell (13) and, above all, Extras (36), the visitors ground their way to 163 all out. It looked a defendable score on this pitch and at teatime one wondered if YM would regret allowing a last-wicket stand of 23. The best of the bowlers were Armstrong (3-43 off 10 and McCready (2-28 off 6).

From early in the second innings, the chase looked difficult, with Fourie taking two quick wickets. Darby and Joan, disguised as Lewis and Dunlop, steadied the nerves for a while, but YM never got a grip on the game. Ahmed, with a cavalier 39 (accompanied by Hosford in an 8th-wicket stand of 47) gave the home side a glimpse of what might be, but it didn’t happen and the innings folded 30 runs short. Fourie (4-21 off 10), Ullah (3-21 off 7) and Tariq (2-26 off 8) were the main destroyers.

Railway Union C.C. Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
163 (0.0 overs)
K.Carroll Caught  0
T.Fisher Lbw  51
M.J.Fourie Lbw  0
T.Copeland Caught  15
C.Mullen Lbw  1
M.Tariq Lbw  20
G.Carroll Lbw  7
J.Rogan Caught  12
S.Ullah Not Out  8
A.O'Neill Run out  0
C.Rendell Caught  13

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Paul K. Beacroft9.0316116.001.78
Ehtesham Ahmed6.0016116.002.67
Stuart R.S. McCready6.2128214.004.42
Warwick V. Armstrong10.0043314.334.30
Rob M. Nandi3.011400.004.67
Jonathan C.W. Harte10.0124124.002.40
Ben R. Dunk4.0014114.003.50

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 10 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Graeme A. McCoy Bowled  1 1
Stuart R.S. McCready Caught  8 2
Ben R. Dunk Lbw  4
D. Alan Lewis Bowled  11
Angus R. Dunlop Caught  11
Rob M. Nandi Lbw  4 1
Carl R. Hosford Bowled  13
Paul K. Beacroft Lbw  1
Ehtesham Ahmed Caught  39
Jonathan C.W. Harte Not Out  9
Warwick V. Armstrong Caught  3

Railway Union C.C. Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    L.'Bill' McGeehan