Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI v Old Belvedere C.C. on Sun 15 Jun 2008 at 1.00pm
Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club Lost by 1 run

Match report Y.M.C.A. 1st XI v Old Belvedere 1st XI
WhitneyMoore League - Section B
Sunday 15th June
at Claremont Road

Peter O'Donnell won the toss for Old Belvedere and decided to bat at Claremount Road. Simmi Singh and Manoj Kumar headed out to the middle and got after the YMCA bowling from the start .The score raced to 74 after 11 overs without loss. The first wicket partnership was worth 153 when Manoj Kumar departed for 56 his maiden half century. Simi Singh continued to punish wayward YMCA bowling and put together another 50 partnership with Sameer Dutt who made a composed 22 before being stumped off the bowling of Ben Dunk. Yogesh came to the wicket and the Belvedere contingent expected fireworks from their Talisman however it was not to be as he was bowled fourth ball for 7 by Jehanger in the 39th over the total has raced to 213. Simi Singh had passed his hundred two overs before and continued to take singles and put away the bad ball showing super concentration and fitness. Simi cut loose in the last 10 overs and finished with a superb 164 Not out (18 x4 & 5 x6) - a chanceless innings of real class - he was helped by Darryll Calder who made a nice 22 not out with 23 Extras Belvedere had made what looked a formidable 294 for 3! YMCA had other ideas.

Yms Reply started in a brisk manner with McCoy and Wilson Moore taking on the Belvo bowlers and getting the better of it up front. Wilson Moore departed in the 9th over the score 45 for 1 and Belvo must have thought they would have a easier spell in front of them. However McCoy cut loose and hit a swashbuckling 86 from 48 balls only offering one chance which was declined at long on by Kulahari in his 70s. Mc Coy then hit a Simi singh full toss to Calder in the deep who caught it well. Mc Coy and Dunk had compiled a 100 partnership in 11 overs putting Belvedere under severe pressure and seeing off six different Belvo bowlers. Ahmed went cheaply and Belvo looked back in the driving seat. Dunk and Dunlop put on 80 in 11 overs and Belvo were really struggling. Dunk was on 80 and flying. The turning point came in the 36 th over the score at 238 for 3 it rained although the teams were only off for 9 minutes it gave Belvedere a chance to think, reorganise and get off the ropes. Captain Peter ODonnell turned to a under the weather Derek McGeehan to bowl for the first time in the match with his 2nd ball of his second over he removed Dunk Lbw for a fine 88. McGeehan was replaced by Dutt who picked Angus Dunlop up with the 3rd ball off his 2nd spell. The score was 256 for 5 after 40 Advantage Ym . What followed was a great spell by Richard O Donnell and Manoj Kumar. Kumar Struck in the 43rd over getting Beacroft Caught behind the score was now 267 for 6. In the 45th over Nandi was bowled by Kumar the score now 270 for 7 with Hosford going well.

During this period Belvedere had several direct hit attempts which narrowly missed Dutt on 3 occasions going close all of which would have been out if the wicket was hit. Harte and Hosford then took the score to 289 for 8 in the 48th over when Hosford was trapped Lbw by one that kept very low for a stylish 24 to Yogesh now bowling seam at the death. Kumar struck again in the 49th over Bowling Jahanger with the score at 290 . Skipper Armstrong survived a massive Lbw appeal first ball Ym scrambled 3 singles in the last four balls. Two to win for Ym off the last over Armstrong on strike . Armstrong missed the first ball and was trapped Lbw by Yogesh second ball of the over. A thrilling end to a pulsating match played in a great spirit.The best Belvedere bowlers were Kumar 3 for 46 Dutt 2 for 35. Old Belvedere won by one run and go top of Section B.

Old Belvedere C.C. Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 3 wickets
294 (0.0 overs)
Simmi Singh Not Out  164
M.Kumar Caught  56
S.Dutt Stumped  22
A.Yogesh Bowled  7
D.Calder Not Out  22
Sreekanth Singh  

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Paul K. Beacroft6.003500.005.83
Ehtesham Ahmed3.002400.008.00
Simon B. Wilson-Moore5.002900.005.80
Warwick V. Armstrong2.002800.0014.00
Rob M. Nandi10.0138138.003.80
Jonathan C.W. Harte10.004000.004.00
Umar Jehangir7.0041141.005.86
Ben R. Dunk7.0053153.007.57

Y.M.C.A. Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 10 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Simon B. Wilson-Moore Lbw  21
Graeme A. McCoy Caught  86 1 1
Ben R. Dunk Lbw  88
Ehtesham Ahmed Lbw  8
Angus R. Dunlop Lbw  20
Paul K. Beacroft Caught  9
Carl R. Hosford Lbw  24
Rob M. Nandi Bowled  2
Jonathan C.W. Harte Not Out  7
Umar Jehangir Bowled  1
Warwick V. Armstrong Lbw  2

Old Belvedere C.C. Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Simmi Singh6.0040140.006.67

  • Umpire :
    John Bristow & Simon Corcoran
  • Scorer :